# ORDINANCE 2022-06-16-0451

REAPPOINTING MELANIE A. CASTILLO, CLARISSA L. CHAVARRIA, LISA M. GONZALES, DANIEL GUERRERO, JAMES DANIEL KASSAHN, MICHAEL RAMOS, MARGARITA S. POL, PETER ANDREW ZAMORA, AND APPOINTING KENNETH BELL AND YVONNE GOMEZ AS FULL-TIME MUNICIPAL COURT JUDGES; REAPPOINTING LAUREN M. LEFTON, FRANK D. SANDOVAL, ALFREDO MACIAS TAVERA, AIDA ANN ZARAGOZA, AND APPOINTING ANTHONY ARRIAGA, VERONICA I. LEGARETTA, ELIZABETH R. MARTINEZ, CHERYL LYNN MENDOZA, AND MARIO VEGA AS PART-TIME MUNICIPAL COURT JUDGES FOR THE REMAINDER OF A TWO-YEAR TERM EXPIRING APRIL 30, 2024.

WHEREAS, excluding Presiding Judge Carla Obledo, there are currently nine full-time and five part-time Municipal Court Judges, appointed by the City Council; and

WHEREAS, the terms of the full-time and part-time Judges expired April 30, 2022, and they are "holding over" under Article XII, Section 160 of the City Charter and Section 20-5(9) of the City Code; and

WHEREAS, the Municipal Court Advisory Committee undertook the appointment process in the Spring of 2022, and met on several occasions to consider the applications and make recommendations for appointments; and

WHEREAS, after review and consideration of the qualifications and performance of the applicants for full- and part-time time Municipal Court Judges, the City Council has determined to reappoint all current Municipal Court Judges and appoint new full- and part-time judges to reach 10 full-time and nine part-time judges; NOW THEREFORE:

### BE IT ORDAINED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF SAN ANTONIO:

**SECTION 1**. The following are reappointed (R) and appointed (A) to serve as full-time Municipal Court Judges for the City of San Antonio Municipal Court for the remainder of terms expiring April 30, 2024:

Melanie A. Castillo (R)

Clarissa L. Chavarria (R)

Lisa M. Gonzales (R)

Daniel Guerrero (R)

James Daniel Kassahn (R)

Margarita S. Pol (R)

Michael Ramos (R)

Peter Andrew Zamora (R)

**SECTION 2**. The following are reappointed (R) and appointed (A) to serve as part-time Municipal Court Judges for the City of San Antonio Municipal Court for the remainder of terms expiring April 30, 2024:

Lauren M. Lefton (R)

Frank D. Sandoval (R)

Alfredo Macias Tavera (R)

Aida Ann Zaragoza (R)

Anthony Arriaga (A)

Veronica I. Legarreta (A)

Elizabeth R. Martinez (A)

Cheryl Lynn Mendoza (A)

Mario Vega (A)

**SECTION 3.** Annual salaries for the full-time Judges are established at \$110,704.36. Compensation for part-time Judges is \$47.77 per hour worked. Life insurance and health and retirement benefits currently extended to City employees are extended to the full-time Judges.

**SECTION 4.** Funding in the amount of \$2,423,791.00 for this ordinance is available in Fund 11001000 as part of the Fiscal Year 2022 Adopted Budget approved by City Council as set out the table below.

Amount	Cost Center	General ledger
\$1,903,725	0301010001	5101010
\$145,542	0301010001	5103005
\$1,648	0301010001	5103010
\$204,907	0301010001	5105010
\$151,193	0301010001	5170040
\$16,776	0301010001	5170100
Total Amount: \$2,423,791.00		

SECTION 5. The financial allocations in this Ordinance are subject to approval by the Deputy Chief Financial Officer, City of San Antonio. The Deputy Chief Financial Officer may, subject to concurrence by the City Manager or the City Manager's designee, correct allocations to specific Cost Centers, WBS Elements, Internal Orders, General Ledger Accounts, and Fund Numbers as necessary to carry out the purpose of this Ordinance.

**SECTION 6**. This ordinance is effective immediately upon the receipt of eight affirmative votes, or if eight affirmative votes are not received, on the tenth day after passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED this 16th day of June 2022.

M A Y O
Ron Nirenberg

ATTEST:

Debbie Racca-Sittre, City Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

Andrew Segovia, City Attorney

## City of San Antonio

# City Council A Session Meeting June 16, 2022

25.

#### 2022-06-16-0451

Ordinance approving San Antonio Municipal Court Judges to the remainder of a two-year term, expiring April 30, 2024; the reappointment of current full-time Judges Melanie A. Castillo, Clarissa L. Chavarria, Lisa M. Gonzales, Daniel Guerrero, James Daniel Kassahn, Margarita S. Pol, Michael Ramos and Peter Andrew Zamora; the appointment of new full-time Judges Kenneth C. Bell and Yvonne M. Gomez; the reappointment of current part-time Judges Lauren M. Lefton, Frank D. Sandoval, Alfredo Macias Tavera, Aida Ann Zaragoza; and the appointment of new part-time Judges Cheryl Mendoza, Anthony Arriaga, Mario Vega, Elizabeth R. Martinez and Veronica I. Legarreta. [Carla Obledo, Municipal Court]

Councilmember Castillo moved to Approve on the Consent Agenda. Councilmember Rocha Garcia seconded the motion. The motion carried by the following vote:

Aye:

Nirenberg, Bravo, McKee-Rodriguez, Viagran, Rocha Garcia, Castillo, Cabello

Havrda, Courage, Perry

No:

Pelaez

Absent:

Sandoval